Holiday Hangover

Its about time for an update….

The holidays have left me totally exhausted! However, a lot of it has to do with my real big-girl job (which I have yet to write about) and snot congested, bronchitis hacking, disgusting sickness I have had for MONTHS now. I have been to the doctor three times and on five antibiotics and two packs of Mucinex DM in the past two months. I was just given my fourth and fifth antibiotic Monday. Thankfully, I finally feel like I am getting better.

This transitions nicely into talking a little bit about my new job… Preschool/Kindergarten teacher at a private school/daycare in my home town! It is a lot of fun but challenging, a bit stressful, and I am completely exhausted and ready to go to bed by the end of the day; 5:30. But the kids make it all worth it. There are some crazy ones, rowdy ones, sweet ones, shy ones, affectionate ones, messy ones… but in my month of being there I have come to realize and accept that they are all just kids. Precious children. Children that God created with great creativity and design. This truth makes me look at all of them, even the stubborn ones differently. I am so blessed to have been hired for this job. It is a lot of work, but now have a paycheck and more than $4 in my checking account.

Christmas- Christmas was a great time spent with family. The big gift my brothers and I got was a pool table. I have been beating everyone… I surprised myself! Christmas meant so much more to me this year than any other year. I think that shows the spiritual growth I experienced this year. Recognizing Jesus’ birth as the greatest gift of all. The gift of SALVATION! Praise God!

New Years- Not only was this a celebration of a new year, but it also marked the one year anniversary of mine and Joe’s meeting. We met last year at a conference Crusade puts on, IndyCC. I had to work during the conference this year but i was able to make it for the New Year’s Eve celebration. “Get Your NE-ON” was the theme and it was a blast! The dance party was followed by praying in the New Year and an extended time of worship. (The picture below isn’t the best, but Joe and I are on the right. I found this picture on the IndyCC facebook page!)

2010 was probably the best year for me so far in my short 23 years. I experienced a lot of change; I fell in love, graduated from college, moved back home, was completely broke, got a job, and grew in my faith through many highs and lows. I can only imagine how FANTASTIC 2011 will be! I can’t wait to see what the Lord does this year!

Leave a Reply

