The Life of a Poor College Grad

It actually aint too bad, folks. Yeah, I don’t have money or a job. I am living at home with my parents, eating their food and buying the things I need with coupons and gift cards. Oh, and finding change lying around the house or under the seat of my car has become a highlight in my day! Haha I am actually serious… financially speaking I would not consider myself rich. However, in all other aspects of my life I am extremely wealthy!

I am so incredibly blessed it amazes me. There is so much joy in my life. I get to have a personal relationship with the One who created me and EVERYTHING around me. I can serve Him and work for Him through a campus ministry that I am in love with. I am surrounded by a community who loves Jesus and serves Him wholeheartedly. I have parents who love me and love having me home. I am currently free to do whatever I please. I am not tied down to a job that keeps me from interacting with friends,  family and new acquaintances. I have a man in my life who loves me for me. I have so much to be thankful for!

In terms of material things, I do not have much. It would be, and has been at times, easy for me to get upset with the situation I am in currently. But I am focusing on the things that really matter to me. Money, no matter how much or how little I have, will never make me feel alive or truly make me happy. I can experience happiness and joy in my relationships with others and with Jesus.

I know that these times are difficult in a person’s life. But there is so much more… As a Christian and Christ follower, I know that there is a greater hope for me. Greater than money, a new car, a house of my own… As Peter writes in 1 Peter,

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.

The Lord has given us a hope in something that is “imperishable, undefiled, and unfading.” Being in relationship with Christ, glorifying Him in all we do, and keeping our eyes on the end goal (eternity in Heaven with Christ), will give us the utmost joy and happiness in this life.

How is it you are experiencing joy? Will it last?

Leave a Reply

