Footprints of Light

Today marks the last day of my last Spring Break as an undergraduate student at BGSU. No, I did not go to Florida, or Hilton Head, or New York, but came back home to Columbus! It was a GREAT week filled with adventures and some memories that I will never, ever forget.

The first night I was home really made an impact on me. I was invited by my friend Joe to hang out with him and some of his friends from his Bible study. I didn’t know any of them but I agreed and thought it would be fun to meet new people. I was right! These people were so great! We had planned to venture around OSU’s campus to see what trouble we could- I mean, see what cool things we could find. But before we left, my new friend Emily shared with us some verses God had laid on her heart earlier that day. She was talking with the group about how dark of a place campus is. There recently had been a couple of reported sexual assaults and two shootings. Emily reminded us all that we are the light on this dark campus. Everywhere we step, every place we sit, every person we talk to, we are shedding God’s light. She went on to share a few verses… 

I am the LORD; I have called you in righteousness; I will take you by the hand and keep you; I will give you as a covenant for the people, a light for the nations, to open the eyes that are blind, to bring out the prisoners from the dungeon, from the prison those who sit in darkness… The LORD goes out like a mighty man, like a man of war he stirs up his zeal; he cries out, he shouts aloud, he shows himself mighty against his foes… And I will lead the blind in a way that they do not know, in paths that they have not known I will guide them. I will turn the darkness before them into light, the rough places into level ground. These are the things I do, and I do not forsake them. -Isaiah 42: 6, 7, 13, 16.

I could picture everywhere we walked glowing with light leaving a trail from where we had been. I was so moved by Emily’s words. Not only when I set foot on a college campus, my own or any other campus, but in the grocery store, at the park, at a restaurant, at the gym… everywhere I go, I am lighting up the ground where I walk.

The God of peace will soon crush Satan under your feet. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you. -Romans 16:20

We prayed before we left for the University and for our evening together and then went out and had an incredible adventure! We did some silly things but God and God’s Word was in the forefront of our minds. We shed His light all over the campus! It was such a wonderful night and I was so encouraged by the people I was with.

3 thoughts on “Footprints of Light

  1. I am so blessed to have been able to share in that amaaaazing night with you, Kaleigh!! YOU are such a wonderful girl and God’s presence in your life is nothing short of evident. I am so glad God put you in my life that night and that we all got to have sooo much fun and at the same time, remember our life mission and walk the campus with that in our hearts. I really hope we get to hang out again soooooon and that we build a friendship that lasts!! cause lets face it, i NEED that laugh in my life lol

  2. Yeah it was a great week. I really enjoyed that night…I never knew campus had so many neat things.

    GYAAHAHAHAHHHAAAAHAHAH!

  3. Kaleigh,
    What an amazing night! It was seriously such a gift to get to meet you and bond and embrace the freedom in community that God created us for. You are so encouraging and your laugh is contagious (and my FAVORITE of all time!) and I really really would love for you to visit again soon! It was awesome getting to connect over not only our shared love for Jesus but also adventures and donuts :D
    And, like Justina said, i NEED your laugh in my life!!! So, come back soon! :D

Leave a Reply

