The Man I Prayed For

I found this poem on one of my favorite blogs, Young Ladies Christian Fellowship. I often find myself going to this blog when I am looking for encouragement. I was moved to tears reading this poem that one of the bloggers decided to post for readers who are still waiting on their man. Thank you YLCF! I have a restored hope and a prayer that I can carry with me.

Dear God, I prayed, all unafraid,
(as we’re inclined to do)
I do not need a handsome man
But let him be like You;
I do not need one big and tall
Nor need he be some genius
Or wealthy, Lord, at all;
But let his head be high, dear God,
And let his eye be clear,
His shoulders straight,
Whate’er his state
Whate’er his earthly sphere;
And let his face have character,
A ruggedness of soul,
And let his whole life show,
Dear God,
A singleness of goal;
That when he comes
(as he will come)
With quiet eyes aglow
I’ll understand that he’s the man
I prayed for long ago.

Ruth Bell, 1939 Published in Never Let it End: Poems of a Lifelong Love

One thought on “The Man I Prayed For

Leave a Reply

