WHGBSTYL: Don’t be anxious

I am finding this semester to be very difficult but challenging, very stressful but full of excitement. This semester truly has flown by! Oh… by the way, four more weeks left of fall semester then I am on my way out of BGSU in May and into the real world. Crazy. Anyway, this semester has been really great. I have made some life long friends and created memories that will be with me forever. However, my anxiety has been through the roof recently. I can’t seem to stay caught up and feel pressed for time everyday. There never seems to be enough hours in the day to accomplish what I need to accomplish. I’m not even the over achieving type and I STILL feel overwhelmed with everything on my plate. On top of my job and academic work load, I have to study for the GRE and fill out applications to graduate schools! Ah!

Now that I have done all of my complaining, I have to tell you how sweet God has been though all of this. God has given me peace and has strengthened my trust in Him. He totally understands what I am going through and has moved closer to me. One thing in particular I have been worried about is the reality that I might not get accepted into a graduate program because my field is so competitive. God has truly given me peace about this. He knows the plan for my life. If I do not get accepted anywhere that doesn’t mean that I have failed in any way. It just means that God has something better for me. With that, He has reminded me through His word to not be anxious about the future. Today has enough trouble of its own. If I keep my eyes on Him and His kingdom, I will be blessed. God’s got this all under control and beautifully planned out. I simply have to trust.

Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?” For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

“Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. -Matthew 6:31-34

water-lilies-canoe-maine-661146-xl

Leave a Reply

