WHGBSTYL: Faith is not a feeling

For the past couple of years, I have felt that I have had good communication with God. I talk to Him and He responds back; I listen. I have also been able to feel His presence often. However, for the past couple of months I have felt emotionally disconnected from God. I find myself in Bible study, at church, and in prayer not feeling much from God. I am learning and continuing to grow, but I am at a period in my walk with the Lord where I am not feeling Him and not hearing Him very clearly. It has been very discouraging and at times scary. Nevertheless, I have not stopped believing.

It has been easy to think that I am not loved by God as much as someone else and I began to doubt that God is really present  in my life as I have not been feeling anything. Through all of this, I know what God is teaching me. It has taken several weeks and conversations with some wise people to figure it out, but God is teaching me that even though I cannot feel Him, He is right here with me. He is teaching me to have faith. I will feel Him again. He is teaching me that His love for me has no boundaries even though I cannot feel it as I have in the past. I am encouraged by the truth about what God is teaching me. After talking with a few people about this, my emotional connection with God has improved a little, which is encouraging… Faith is not a feeling. faith

Here are some truths I know about God and His word that I stumbled upon and struck me during this challenging and difficult time.

  • God’s Word is truer than anything I feel.
  • God’s Word is truer than anything I experience.
  • God’s Word is truer than any circumstances I will ever face.
  • God’s Word is truer than anything in the world.
Just as a reminder… Remember that even if you cannot feel God’s presence in your life or if you feel like you are calling and nobody is picking up… God IS there. You have to be faithful and believe. Know that God is with you and listening to your prayers.
One thought on “WHGBSTYL: Faith is not a feeling

  1. Kaleigh … I look forward to your WHGBSTYL posts. They are how I found your blog. And perhaps they are related to what I am talking about when I say “How is God intersecting with your life?” I have seen God intersecting with your life Kaleigh … just through what you share here. And tonight it seems like I should pray for you as I consider you a friend in Christ. And so I pause now and ask the Lord to come … come … come!

    Do you have the gift of speaking?
    Then speak as though God Himself were speaking through you.
    Do you have the gift of helping others?
    Do it with all the strength and energy that God supplies.
    Then everything you do will bring glory to God through Jesus Christ.
    All glory and power to Him forever and ever!
    Amen.
    (1Peter 4:11 NLT)

    Speak as though God Himself is speaking through you Kaleigh … because He is!

    Lord, I ask that you come and meet with your daughter this day… this week. Come visit with the daughter you love and delight over. Come walk with your daughter who loves you so very much. Fill her with your light… with your life… with your joy. Be her strength Lord. Remove doubts as they creep in. Be her shield Lord. Shield her from all the lies and deception that seem to be ever-present in colleges these days. Pop a corresponding truth into her mind anytime deception or lies come at her. Surround her with godly friends.

    Lord … you said that I should pray bigger prayers. And so I try to do just that. And so right now I am praying for my friend who has been such a significant encouragement to me. Lord … come and revitalize her. Supply her with Your strength and energy! Let her be normal Lord … normal just as you have defined it to me:

    Normal is feeling God’s presence all around me all day!

    Lord … let Kaleigh feel your presence all around her. Yes!

    This is not “feel” in the sense of emotional feelings. This is more like sensing the reality that is around you … that the unseen is more real than what you see!

    So we do not focus on what is seen, but on what is unseen; for what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. (2Cor 4:18)

    And we will give You the glory Lord. All the glory is Yours. Glory! I pray this in the name and authority of Christ Jesus, King of Kings. Amen.

    And Kaleigh … one side note … perhaps you are the one.

    Saturday October 24 is One Foot In Heaven here. This is where I invite people to come and share their story about how God has intersected with their life. Last year some of the stories were quite amazing!! And God is asking me to celebrate this way again this year… with a twist. It seems like He is asking me to find one other place that will “join” with me in this celebration. One other place that will have people get together for an hour just to share stories about how God is intersecting with their lives (and maybe eat pizza too). Ask God about it … maybe it is you that should be this other place celebrating having One Foot In Heaven! (and if not, that’s fine too … God calls us all in our own unique ways).

    Please know that you are gifted … you are an encourager! And sometimes it is hard to be an encourager. Please know that you are appreciated.

    May the Lord bless you and keep you!
    ==Len
    PS: you can read about One Foot In Heaven on my website … the top two entries. I think you will enjoy my story behind it … Mark This Day! Remember It!

Leave a Reply

