50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind

Park-Bench15

These questions have no right or wrong answers. Because sometimes asking the right questions is the answer.

  1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?
  2. Which is worse, failing or never trying?
  3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?
  4. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?
  5. What is one thing you’d most like to change about the world?
  6. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?
  7. Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?
  8. If that average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?
  9. To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?
  10. Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?
  11.  You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire. They all start criticising a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend. The criticism is distasteful and unjustified. What do you do?
  12. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?
  13. Would you break the law to save a loved one?
  14. Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?
  15. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?
  16. How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy?
  17. What one thing have you not done that  you really want to do? What’s holding you back?
  18. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of?
  19. If you had to move to a state or country besides the one that you currently live in, where would you move and why?
  20. Do you push the elevator button more than once? Do you really believe it makes it go faster?
  21. Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton?
  22. Why are you, you?
  23. Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?
  24. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you?
  25. What are you most grateful for?
  26. Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?
  27. Is it possible to know the truth without challenging it first?
  28. Has your greatest fear ever come true?
  29. Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset? Does it really matter now?
  30. What is your happiest childhood memory? What makes it so special?
  31. At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?
  32. If not now, then when?
  33. If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose?
  34. Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?
  35. Why do religions that support love cause so many wars?
  36. Is it possible to know, without a doubt, what is good and what is evil?
  37. If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job?
  38. Would you rather have less work to do, or more work you actually enjoy doing?
  39. Do you feel like you’ve lived this day a hundred time before?
  40. When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believe in?
  41. If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?
  42. Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous?
  43. What is the difference between being alive and truly living?
  44. When is it time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just go ahead and do what you know is right?
  45. If we learn from our mistakes, why are we always so afraid to make a mistake?
  46. What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?
  47. When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing?
  48. What do you love? Have any of your recent actions openly expressed this love?
  49. In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday? What about the day before that? Or the day before that?
  50. Decisions are being made right now. The question is: Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?

Please share your thoughts with me in by leaving a comment.

2 thoughts on “50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind

  1. I typically avoid these type of “surveys” :)

    But I think I will try to answer some of yours Kaleigh! (and in return, would you mind sharing if you made these questions up yourself or where you found them?)

    1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are? Whether I know it or not, I would be exactly the same age. My age does not depend on my knowing it.
    2. Which is worse, failing or never trying? Never Trying
    3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do? Temptation is real. And it is SOOOO tempting!
    4. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done? I hope not! I try to do just that which the Lord sets before me (it is not a contest to see who can do the most … God does not have the same quota for each of us … Consider Noah … a great preacher! Saved only his own family)
    5. What is one thing you’d most like to change about the world? Can it be two? Abortion is killing a baby (not a choice). Evolution makes no sense (takes way more faith than creation!).
    6. If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich? Serving others.
    7. Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing? I am doing what I believe the Lord would have me be doing.
    8. If that average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently? Um …. I’d be dead over 15 years ago Kaleigh!
    9. To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken? Quite a bit … for there ARE consequences to our actions! But most of my life was before I got saved (which was when I was 48yrs old … back 8 years)
    10. Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things? I try not to worry. Being anxious about something does NOT help matters. Jesus asks us to give our cares to him … and to simply take on His yoke.
    11. You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire. They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend. The criticism is distasteful and unjustified. What do you do? Gossip is awful. I try to avoid situations where people talk about each other like that. I’d probably leave and not be part of such conversation.
    12. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be? Follow the Lord whole-heartedly.
    13. Would you break the law to save a loved one? I tend to not answer hypothetical questions like this as they seem meaningless without context around them.
    14. Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity? Yes … and remember in one of Paul’s epistles he mentions that he was called “insane”.
    15. What’s something you know you do differently than most people? LOTS of things. Maybe because all my life I have valued being UNIQUE! a) I use $2 bills as part of spending “God’s money” b) I wear tropical shirts … even in the winter … in Wisconsin! (I just wear a long sleeve T-shirt under them then) c) I try to bless drivers who cut me off in traffic (because they likely need a blessing about then)
    16. How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy? The world would be so very boring if everyone was like me. We each are unique. I get excited about doing a word study around a verse in scripture … the person next to me at work gets excited about Kayaking. God made us who we are for a reason. I try to be who God made me.
    17. What one thing have you not done that you really want to do? What’s holding you back? I can’t state it here … but what is holding me back is the Lord … the Lord telling me to “wait”.
    18. Are you holding onto something you need to let go of? Probably … and I probably don’t know it or realize it. Hold on to things loosely!
    19. If you had to move to a state or country besides the one that you currently live in, where would you move and why? My brain just doesn’t do language well … I can’t learn a second language! So it would need to be a place that has English as it’s language. Australia / New Zealand maybe?
    20. Do you push the elevator button more than once? No. Do you really believe it makes it go faster? I like to tell such stories while in the elevator. I tell stories about how sometimes the elevator just knows I’m coming and gets there just in time for me. Or I apologize for pressing the button for my floor which now will delay the others in the elevator (who are going further) … but then ask if I can just push ALL the buttons! :)
    21. Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton? I strive to not worry. I strive to just trust in the Lord. Sometimes a question is not a THIS or THAT kind of question … and there are way more than simply two alternatives. Sometimes viewing choices as an EITHER OR can be outright dangerous to good living! So the answer to your REAL question (what would I rather be) … I’d rather be someone who had the strength and courage to simply walk where the Lord is taking me always.
    22. Why are you, you? Easy Question (finally and easy question) … because that is how God DESIGNED me!!!
    23. Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend? I try to be… and hope that I succeed in it more than not.
    24. Which is worse, when a good friend moves away, or losing touch with a good friend who lives right near you? Another easy question. Loosing touch with a good friend who lives right near me is worse. Because when a good friend simply moves away, we STILL KEEP IN TOUCH!
    25. What are you most grateful for? I am grateful for God loving me first. I am thankful for my breath, my life. Thank you Lord for your many blessings. Thank you for shielding me from the many many things (that I know not of, since I have been shielded from them). I am grateful for being surrounded by godly people. I am thankful for God speaking to me… walking with me … for being so near … always! I type out a “thank you Lord” set of things every day!
    26. Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones? Ah … this relates to my latest post on my website … something it seems the Lord is telling me. Don’t fear loss of memory … fear the hardening of my heart! http://acceptednotrejected.com/2009/09/17/dont-fear-loss-of-memory-fear-the-hardening-of-our-hearts/
    27. Is it possible to know the truth without challenging it first? Yes.
    28. Has your greatest fear ever come true? No.
    29. Do you remember that time 5 years ago when you were extremely upset? Does it really matter now? Loaded question. One answer would be OF COURSE … actions have consequences! Another answer would be OF COURSE NOT … God has told me to begin each day ANEW … each and every day I can begin anew with Him … it matters not where I left off the day before!
    30. What is your happiest childhood memory? What makes it so special? I can’t remember too much of my childhood (which was back in the 50’s) Maybe it might be when I had my own softball team and we played simply to have fun. No stress about having to catch the ball, hit the ball, throw the ball just right. We won just one game that year (when the other team didn’t show up)
    31. At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive? Sharing stories of God intersecting with my life! And most of all my One Foot In Heaven story (I really need to post about it soon)
    32. If not now, then when? When the Lord sets it before me … don’t worry about it Kaleigh!
    33. If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose? My soul. I always can lose my soul. I can strive to gain the whole world … but what good would it be if I lose my soul? I strive to not be deceived… to follow the Lord each and every day. It is not easy, but then again, the Lord promised me that it would not be easy!
    34. Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever? yes.
    35. Why do religions that support love cause so many wars? Because PEOPLE are involved! People are not perfect.
    36. Is it possible to know, without a doubt, what is good and what is evil? Yes.
    37. If you just won a million dollars, would you quit your job? First … I would not win the million dollars as I do not gamble or play lottery. If you really meant “If you I received a million dollars” … then that is a better question. And the real answer is that a MILLION DOLLARS is NOT something I want. Back before I was saved I was supposed to have received a million dollars as part of a magazine deal (true) but I didn’t get the million due to lawyers and quirks of law etc. And back then it was upsetting. Now I am so very very grateful that I did NOT get that million dollars … if I had I likely would not be saved today … and THAT is what is most important, not the million dollars!
    38. Would you rather have less work to do, or more work you actually enjoy doing? I wish I had more time to be with the Lord! More time to be in His Word! More time to be in community with brothers and sisters in Christ. So … I guess the answer is I’d rather have more work I enjoy doing!
    39. Do you feel like you’ve lived this day a hundred time before? No.
    40. When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believe in? Right now. Almost daily. Answering your questions right now is one time. I can tell you stories!!
    41. If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today? Another hypothetical question that I tend to avoid as it needs context.
    42. Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous? Absolutely not. When I started reading this question I was expecting the second half to be different. I expected something like, reduce my life expectancy by 10 years if I could be more sure I was walking with God.
    43. What is the difference between being alive and truly living? Being alive means your heart is beating (or artificially so). Truly living is referring to HOW you live, rather than the fact that you are alive.
    44. When is it time to stop calculating risk and rewards, and just go ahead and do what you know is right? If God is asking me to do something, I need to just do it and not need to calculate whether **I** think it is a good idea or not.
    45. If we learn from our mistakes, why are we always so afraid to make a mistake? Let me rephrase that. If we learn from our sins, why are we always so afraid to sin? Paul says it much better in his epistle … but wanting to make a mistake just seems to be a wrong way of viewing life.
    46. What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you? Another hypothetical question that needs more context… especially since the pretext is totally false (there is no such thing available to me)
    47. When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing? I don’t notice it.
    48. What do you love? Have any of your recent actions openly expressed this love? God. Yes … answering these questions.
    49. In 5 years from now, will you remember what you did yesterday? What about the day before that? Or the day before that? Likely not. Likely not. Likely not.
    50. Decisions are being made right now. The question is: Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you? I hope that I am relying on the Lord to help me make them.

Leave a Reply

