WHGBSTYL?

WHGBSTYL? Yes, all of those letters stand for something. My Sunday School teacher, Mr. B, asks me and the other students in the class, “What has God been saying to you lately?” almost every Sunday. This question is probably one the best questions someone could ask another. If my prayer life and relationship with God have taken the back seat, there usually isn’t an answer that comes to mind when this question is asked. When my prayer life is good and I am in communication with the Lord there is something to share that others should hear (this goes for not just me, but everyone). And how wonderful is it that Mr. B wants to hear about how God is working in my life?!

Well, I didn’t share with the whole class today but I was able to share with a couple one-on-one what God has said to my this past week. God has shown me in so many ways that I need to be dependent on Him. I found myself many times this week wanting to be comforted and loved by someone. God told me numerous times that His love is the greatest love, His comfort is the warmest and His protection is the strongest. He is more than enough for me and that I am to take these things and fill myself with them. It is awesome to see God work in me, molding me into the woman, wife, mother He wants me to be.

James 1 spoke to me though out this entire week. It began on Monday (a very weird, sad, and lonely day and I prayed for God would show Himself to me) during Life Group (Bible Study) when it was the main passage we discussed. It was on my mind constantly. Then on Thursday, Steve spoke about it during Cross Training. It was like someone took a big stamp and stamped the passage to the back of my eyelids. Without looking at the words on paper, I could see them when I closed my eyes and read them to myself everyday this past week. God was reminding me that the struggles and the suffering that I am going through now will give me something to rejoice about later. By seeking Him through the Bible, prayer, and interaction with other Christians I am growing and maturing in my faith and growing closer to Him.

I just wanted to encourage others who may be stuggling through something what I have been learning through this difficult process.

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing… Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him. -James 1:2-4, 12

Something else to share: This song resonates with me very nicely… I spent time in worship with this song a lot this week…

Healer sung by Kari Jobe

You hold my every moment
You calm my raging seas
You walk with me through fire
And heal all my disease

I trust in You
I trust in You

I believe You’re my Healer
I believe You are all I need
I believe You’re my Portion
I believe You’re more than enough for me
Jesus You’re all I need

Nothing is impossible for You
Nothing is impossible for You
Nothing is impossible for You
You hold my world in Your hands

4 thoughts on “WHGBSTYL?

  1. I enjoyed your post, you make a lot of very good observations. I know there is no greater feeling that being close to God. It is awesome to look back over the past week and see the fingerprints of God all around you.

  2. Amazing … I just happened to find your blog and what a wonderful idea! I like to ask people “what is your story?” or “how has God intersected with your life lately?”. But this is quite good! Thank you for sharing!

    My Sunday School teacher, Mr. B, asks me and the other students in the class, “What has God been saying to you lately?” almost every Sunday. This question is probably one the best questions someone could ask another.

Leave a Reply

