101 In 1001 [New Page!]

The 101 In 1001 Project: Check it out

The Mission: Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria: Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on my part).

Why 1001 Days? Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple goals such as New Year’s resolutions. The key to beating procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 Days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organising and timing some tasks such as overseas trips or outdoor activities.

My 101 In 1001 List…

– Check out my progress by clicking the101 In 1001tab at the top of my page. The page will be updated as I complete a goal.

Start date: Thursday, April 16, 2009

End Date: Thursday, January 12, 2012

  1. Make/sew a dress
  2. Make/sew a skirt
  3. Make/sew an apron and wear it
  4. Make a Photo Story book
  5. Crochet a blanket
  6. Crochet a baby sweater
  7. Crochet a pair of socks
  8. Design and create my own stationary
  9. Paint on a canvas
  10. Paint a piece of furniture
  11. Make a quilt
  12. Make a wreath
  13. Make a picture calendar
  14. Embellish a pair of shoes (buttons, paint, marker, fabric, etc.)
  15. Make a pair of earrings
  16. Study photography
  17. Buy a digital camera
  18. Buy a digital video recorder
  19. Send flowers to two people for no reason (0/2)
  20. Make twenty mix CDs and leave them for people to find (0/20)
  21. Learn how to play the guitar
  22. Learn how to change a tire
  23. Write a love letter
  24. Write a letter to my future husband
  25. Send a postcard to a friend while on vacation
  26. Get accepted into graduate school
  27. Make a resume
  28. Put together a puzzle with Grandpa Windle
  29. Cook/bake something with Grandma Windle
  30. Go over to Granddad Farley’s house by myself and watch football
  31. Give my mom a gift on MY birthday
  32. Go on a date with my dad
  33. Go camping with my brothers
  34. Host a Give and Get
  35. Host a Sweet Swap
  36. Host a Christmas party
  37. Throw a surprise party
  38. Make dinner for my family
  39. Invite friends over for a homemade meal by me
  40. Pay for someone behind me in a drive through
  41. Buy lunch for a homeless person
  42. Write down something I am grateful for everyday for a month (0/30)
  43. Read the entire bible, cover to cover
  44. Put myself in 10 uncomfortable conversations about faith (0/10)
  45. Pray with someone who has never prayed before
  46. Buy someone a Bible
  47. Go on a mission trip (Summer Project with CRU)
  48. Fast for a week
  49. Find a church in Columbus
  50. Find a church when I go to grad school
  51. Get baptised (May 10, 2009)
  52. Volunteer for Habitat for Humanity
  53. Go “unplugged” for a week- no internet, phone, music, etc.
  54. Donate blood
  55. Read 20 books (0/20)
  56. Make a gingerbread house
  57. Go to a drive-in movie
  58. Go to a movie theater by myself
  59. Attend a concert of one of my favorite artists
  60. Play a prank on someone
  61. Put a video on YouTube.com
  62. Go apple picking
  63. Get a real massage at a spa
  64. Run a half marathon
  65. Compete in a mini triathlon
  66. Purchase a road bike
  67. Participate in Bikes for Tykes with Dance Marathon
  68. Purchase a pair of roller blades
  69. Go snow skiing
  70. Drink nothing but water for a month (0/30)
  71. Maintain a weight of 135-140 pounds
  72. Buy a set of hot rollers
  73. Try twenty new recipes (0/20)
  74. Start a recipe collection
  75. Ride a mechanical bull
  76. Get my own vehicle
  77. Take a road trip to the beach
  78. Go on a road trip with no predetermined destination
  79. Go white water rafting
  80. Go water skiing
  81. Drive a jet ski
  82. Fly in a helicopter
  83. Take a long-weekend camping trip with friends
  84. Sleep under the stars
  85. Watch the sun set and rise in the same spot- without moving or sleeping
  86. Jump into the river fully clothed
  87. Go skinny-dipping
  88. Lie on the ground in the rain
  89. Swim in the pouring rain
  90. Kiss in the pouring rain on a summer day
  91. Learn to identify 10 constellations (0/10)
  92. Get a passport
  93. Travel overseas
  94. Adopt or buy a dog
  95. Go fishing and eat what I catch
  96. Go horseback riding
  97. Ride a horse bare-back
  98. Go (real) rock climbing
  99. Go paintballing
  100. Jump into a lake from a rope swing
  101. Walk behind a waterfall

When the 1001 days are up I am going to create a new list and donate $5 for every goal that isn’t completed to a charity of my choice.

2 thoughts on “101 In 1001 [New Page!]

  1. Thanks! You totally inspired it! It’s a really awesome challenge. I love your blog… I like it so much I added you to my blog roll. :) I hope thats okay.

Leave a Reply

