God is #1

It is interesting to me how something can cause you to stray off course and just like that, you are distant from God and other relationships struggle. God is not first in your life but replaced by or put lower on your priority list than other things.

This is something that I am struggling with currently. This struggle is recent; something has caused me to venture away from Him. I desire God in my life. I have decided that I am going to end this and put God where He belongs in my life. First. I am doing everything I can and with God’s assistance to get back on the right course.

God is a jealous God (Exodus 20:5). If we choose to put other things before Him, He gets jealous! He wants us back. God has told me to sacrifice the things that I replace Him with for the next few days while I learn to walk in the light again with Him first. It will be difficult, but I have full and complete faith in God that He will guide me and encourage me through this.

Psalm 51 was suggested to me to read and it couldn’t have been more clear! This passage moved me and I could feel God all around me and tugging on my heart saying “I’m here.” The entire passage is beautiful but I kept coming back to three verses in particular…

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God,
   and renew a right spirit within me.
11 Cast me not away from your presence,
   and take not your Holy Spirit from me.
12Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
   and uphold me with a willing spirit.

I prayed these words over and over last night until I fell asleep.

I believe God puts us through these hard times with relationships and stress in our lives to let us know that we are filling His spot in our hearts with something else. He is always there. We just have to invite Him in.

One thought on “God is #1

  1. Oh man, I so relate to this Kaleigh. I feel like when my life gets busy and stressful God is the first to go. which is so silly since he is the only thing that holds us together. I fall apart, but I guess that’s what we need for him to show us how much we need him.

Leave a Reply

