My God, My Comfort

I have recently experienced God in an unbelievable way! He has been so real to me and shown Himself in a way He never has before. This is going to take a little bit of explaining but I will do my best to keep it short and get to the point I want to make.

Last night, Wednesday night, I had a very difficult phone conversation. I am not going to get into the details of this conversation but the main thing that needs to be made know is that I was feeling many uncomfortable and depressing feelings. I wrote all of them down and journaled about what had happened and how I was feeling. I’ll go ahead and list them so you all feel sorry for me (lol… just kidding by the way)… I was feeling sick, afraid, lonely, depressed, embarrassed, sad, angry, confused, lost, sorry, frustrated, unhappy, everything but myself. NONE of these are things that anyone wants to feel! But I was feeling all of them at once.

Right then and there, I started to change. As I was journaling, I decided to write down what I planned to pray about. I prayed that the Lord would become present in my life. It was THEN that I witnessed the most amazing thing. As I was writing, I noticed my thoughts and feelings change. The tone of my writing instantly changed. I could actually feel the Lord there, with me. It was almost like He was holding my hand and writing with me. It was so unbelievable that I began to cry. God is described as our Comforter many times throughout the Bible. I was looking up “comfort” and ran across this verse in II Corinthians. It spoke to me directly, as if God picked it out and put it in bold, neon, flashing letters for me to read and take comfort in.

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too. If we are afflicted, it is for your comfort and salvation; and if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which you experience when you patiently endure the same sufferings that we suffer. Our hope for you is unshaken, for we know that as you share in our sufferings, you will also share in our comfort. -II Corinthians 1:3-7 ESV

After praying and reading this verse, I was feeling so much better. I felt safe, secure, loved, positive, and on fire for the Lord! Amazing feelings, some of which I have not felt in a while. I KNOW that the only way I was able to get out of the funk I was in was because of the awesome-ness and the grace of our Lord! I really did feel Him and I felt Him throughout the day today! My spirits were high and I was so happy! I thank God for making Himself known to me and I thank all of those who were praying for me.

Leave a Reply

